One off-season diversion for fans of the National Hockey League has been speculating about which free agent players will end up on which team in the new Collective Bargaining Agreement environment. We’ve read stories this summer about general managers and coaches e-mailing, phoning and even showing up on the doorsteps of players’ homes to express their interest in obtaining their services.

When I left Kingston and the Kingston Leftovers league I became an Unrestricted Free Agent recreational hockey player. I am almost certain my fate was of little interest to anyone by me, and there certainly wasn’t anyone knocking on my door. It was me sending e-mails and making phone calls to the various local leagues I found on the Internet:

  • Alberta Men’s Hockey League
  • Edmonton Recreational Hockey League
  • Green Pepper Hockey League
  • Edmonton Ice Box League

As of tonight, I am off the UFA list, having signed on with the Pond Dogs, a 4-year-old team in Division 6B of the Alberta Men’s Hockey League. There was one open roster spot and five interested players. The tryout consisted of seeing who would pay the registration fee first, and I had the fastest chequebook! With the start of the new season just a few weeks away, it’s a relief to have that settled. Now I can get serious about my fitness regime. 😉

